Apple macOS versions: everything you need to know



In March 2001, Apple announced its successor to the classic Mac OS user, which was installed on all Macs released between 1984 and 1999. MacOS (first called Mac OS X, then OS X) was based on the NeXTSTEP platform, which Steve Jobs brought to NeXT after his return in 1997 to the company he founded.

Through 16 versions, macOS always contained its official title ‘10’. For example, Mac OS X 10.0 was the first version of macOS to be followed by Mac OS X 10.1. It wasn’t until 2020, when Apple switched to a new number, that told how great a chance this new version of macOS was. Current macOS Big Sur is considered macOS 11.x.

Here is the highlight of each version of macOS from 2001 and why each version was important.

OS X 10.0 screen

(Image credit: Apple)

Mac OS X 10.0 (cheetahs)


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Chasing the Dream: A Beginner’s Guide to Playing Mega Millions top The best of download video from url The best of download video from url Top Gun flight experience