Life can definitely guarantee us only two things: death and taxes. And while we may not be able to do anything about the latter (or the former), it is our responsibility to keep you informed of everything related to the technology. Today it involves figuring out exactly what is happening to you Google account when you – well, hand over the ghost.
Any large platform that offers any kind of cloud storage must treat users who forward and leave their accounts on a regular basis. Idle accounts can place a significant burden on the system because cloud storage requires expensive server space and maintenance.
Google Passive Account Manager
First, Google has created an innovative way for you to choose preventively what happens to your account if you decide to go online for a year-long trip to a remote island somewhere – or You know, kick the bucket.
The first thing you set up in Google Passive Account Management is the amount of time you want to let go without any action before the passive account manager starts. This time can vary anywhere between three months that eighteen months until all actions have been taken.
What does passivity mean?
To determine inactivity, Google keeps track of when you last signed in to Gmail (mobile app or elsewhere), your recent activity in the My Google Activity folder, and records all your Android device usage under that Google Account.
You can send an automatic email when the time comes
You can also contains a personal message will be sent to the selected people when the preset period expires, including any passwords or PINs. If you don’t want to allow full access to your account, but only share certain files / folders with important information, it’s also possible.
You will be notified by SMS and email 1 month before deactivation
Once everything is set and you have gone to AWOL, Google will start sending you several notifications both text message (telephone number is required in the configuration process) as well as e-mail, months before the deadline. Don’t worry: your trusted contact will never be notified until the entire inactivity period has expired and deactivation (No deletion) has taken place.
When your account is deactivated, your trusted contact will receive an email (with an optional personal message) as well as access to anything you choose to share with them.
If you have chosen to delete your account, that person will do so 3 months (to follow deactivation) to access or download your data. The account and all its contents on Google platforms will then be completely removed from the cloud.
There is no need to delete the account
You can also choose not to delete the account after deleting it after the activation is completed. In this case, the selected contacts with whom you share it will have more time in their hands to do with it.
It may be helpful to know that while the entire removal process is irreversible, that email address can never be reused.
What if you never set up a passive account manager?
Years ago, it was customary for Google to take the initiative to delete an account (without warning the user) after just 9 months of signing in because it was considered inactive. However, this policy was clearly less than ideal and was recently modified with the introduction of a new rule.
Passive accounts will be deleted after two years
Starting up June 1, 2021, Google will delete accounts that have not been inactive for 2 years. Until the time has elapsed, nothing is touched or disabled.
Accounts that exceed the storage limit will be deleted after two years
If you miss any of these monthly payments, Google promises an additional seven days without penalty, giving you time to update your payment information. You will then lose the ability to send / receive emails in Gmail, upload new files to Google Drive, or sync photos with Google, at least until you free up space or purchase new storage.
If an account exceeds its current storage limit for 2 years, all its contents will be deleted.
Can the family of the deceased use a Google Account?
Google makes it clear that it will never share passwords, logins, or unauthorized access (posthumously or not) with anyone.
However, Google leaves some room for situations where the testator’s family needs special information from the account, even if no passive account manager has been set up.
- Close the deceased user’s account
- Send a money request from a deceased user’s account
- Get information from the deceased user’s account
If they wish to “obtain information from a deceased user’s account”, they will be asked to complete the following information:
- The full name of the deceased
- Email address of the deceased
- First name of relative / legal representative
- Surname of relative / legal representative
- Email address of relative / legal representative
- Full address
- Date of death
- Choose which Google platforms you need access to (Gmail, Drive, Google Images, YouTube, etc.)
- Download a scan of your government-issued ID or driver’s license, death certificate, and other documents
If the documents are in a language other than English, an official and notarized professional translation into English is required.
Before the form can be submitted, Google also requires that the applicant agrees that, once their original request has been approved, they must obtain a U.S. court order. Google promises “[provide] the language required for the court’s decision. “
Separation letter …
At PhoneArena, we sincerely hope that none of you will ever find yourself in a situation where you have to use Google’s passive account manager for yourself or a loved one.
However, it is always good to have fault protection in place, which after a worse aggravation can save the grieving family many more problems. It’s always better to be safe than sorry, and Google seems to be well prepared and completely on your side in a situation like this.