Google Drive increases the ability for users to block other accounts from sharing files with them, which is designed to prevent potential harassment and spam on the platform. A feature that is over the next two weeks, also prevents accounts from accessing files you’ve shared with them in the past, and deletes all previous files from the drive.
“Drive sharing features increase productivity and collaboration, but bad players can misuse tools designed to facilitate useful sharing,” Google’s announcement text says. “That’s why we’re developing a way to block other users.” Blocking an account on Drive also prevents them from interacting with you on all other Google services such as Hangouts and Chat.
The search giant announced a new feature in May. It became a report Buzzfeed news highlighted a case where a user could not delete a shared folder from a former partner who had been abused by Drive. Because the folder contained harmless photos, Drive’s current “report abuse” feature was not an appropriate response, and the design of the service made it difficult to permanently delete files otherwise.
By Google Support Page, the option to block the user will appear if you right – click on a file he has shared with you in Drive. There is also the option to unblock users later if you change your mind. It is important to recognize that bad actors can easily misuse sharing features, even if they are part of a service that is not a traditional social network.